Uncapped Henry Shipley in New Zealand squad for ODI tours of Pakistan and India

Canterbury all-rounder Henry Shipley has made his debut in the New Zealand squad for the upcoming ODI tours of Pakistan and India. Kane Williamson will lead the team in Pakistan, but will not be part of the next ODI series in India.
Head coach Gary Stead, bowling coach Shane Jorgensen and newly appointed Test captain Tim Southee will return home after touring Pakistan with Williamson in preparation for the home Test series against England in February 2023.
In the absence of Williamson and Stead, Tom Latham and current batting coach Luke Ronchi will take charge of the ODI squad in India. Ronchi will also serve as the head coach for the T20I series in India and will be assisted by former New Zealand women’s coach Bob Carter and former New Zealand spinner Paul Wiseman, who recently joined the New Zealand coaching group. were part. The Zealand A team that toured India earlier this year.
Fast bowler Kyle Jamieson, though, is not available for selection as he works his way back from a back injury. Jamieson has not played for New Zealand since the Nottingham Test in June this year.

Batting all-rounder Mark Chapman and pacer Jacob Duffy have been included in the India-only squad as New Zealand continue to manage the workload of their players and staff.

Leg-spinners Ash Sodhi and Henry Nicholls, who were not included in the squad for the home ODI series against India, have both been recalled for the ODI tours of Pakistan and India. Sodhi will work with Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell and Glenn Phillips in the spin attack.

Shipley, 26, is the only new face in the squad. A fast-bowling all-rounder can hit the deck with the ball and hit boundaries with the bat lower down the order. His towering frame (1.96m) could potentially give New Zealand’s attack a point of difference in the subcontinent.

At home in November, Shipley took career-best List A figures of 6 for 40, including a hat-trick in Canterbury’s Ford Trophy opener against Wellington. It was Canterbury’s first hat-trick and only their fourth overall in the tournament’s 52 years.
Shipley continued his strong form in the Ford Trophy and is currently the second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 12 strikes in five games at an economy rate of 4.20. Earlier in last season’s 20-over super smash, he emerged as the top wicket-taker with 18 scalps in 11 games at an economy rate of 7.25, in Canterbury’s run to the finals as they lost to Northern Districts. were

“Henry is an exciting talent that we have had our eye on for some time,” New Zealand selector Gavin Larson said. “He has taken his game to another level over the past 12 months, and we are delighted to see his progress, showing how valuable true all-rounders are in any cricket team.

“It is heartening to see players put their hand up in our domestic competitions and their performances are rewarded with selection for the national team.”

After a hat-trick of Ford Trophy wins, Shipley attributed his recent success to his greater self-confidence. “Maybe a bit of confidence in the last couple of years. Working quite hard on a few different things, especially my bowling,” he had said. “Trying to be a bit more efficient and I’m guessing and taking wickets. And batting – I’ve always had the confidence but it’s just about taking your time and getting into that position as an all-rounder. have the right to.”

The three-match ODI series in Pakistan starts from January 10 and will continue till January 14. India’s tour begins four days later with the first ODI in Hyderabad and runs until February 1. The squad for the three-match T20I series will be named after the preliminary rounds of Super Smash in January.

Squad: Kane Williamson (captain – Pakistan ODIs only), Tom Latham (captain – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Dion Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ash Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODI only).

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *