Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan have been included in India’s Test squad to face Australia.

Suriyakumar Yadav’s incredible feats in T20I cricket propelled him into the Test arena, with the 32-year-old batsman being selected in the 17-man squad to play for India against Australia. The squad selected for just the first two Tests of the four-match home series includes another player who has made a name for himself in the white-ball circuit. Ishan Kishan has come into the team along with first-choice wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant after recovering from a car accident.
India will go into the Border-Gavaskar series starting February 9, with the leadership of its pace attack stuck on the sidelines. Jasprit Bumrah, not long ago, seemed all set to return to cricket after recovering from a strain reaction in his back. But in the process of re-accustoming himself to a normal workload, he felt tightness in his right glute and has now been advised at least another month of rehabilitation.
Ravindra Jadeja is coming off his long-term injury. The left-arm spin-bowling all-rounder has been picked in the squad and could play a huge role in the home series in which India must win 3-1 or better to secure a place in the World Test Championship final. need of Jadeja has not played any cricket since August 2022. He was originally due to return during the tour of Bangladesh late last year, but it emerged that he needed more time to recover from knee surgery in September. Still, the BCCI in its press release announcing the squad noted that Jadeja’s inclusion is “subject to fitness.”

India’s Test match batting should receive an injection of pace if either Kishan or Surya Kumar make the XI. Both players have a strike rate above 60 in first-class cricket. But getting them in is a challenge.

Captain Rohit Sharma, vice-captain KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli are likely to occupy the top four spots. Shreyas Iyer should be slotted at No 5 or 6 given his recent form – he averaged 101 in India’s most recent Test series against Bangladesh in December 2022, while Shubman Gill is the first in both the opening and middle-order roles. Looks reserved. Kishan has been named as the wicketkeeper in the squad so he will be pitted against KS Bharath, who has been Pant’s understudy for a long time.

On the bowling front, Mohammad Shami will continue as the front man of the attack with support from Mohammad Siraj, who enjoyed a brilliant debut series against Australia when India beat them on their home turf in 2020-21. , Jaydev Unaddict, left-arm player. Who recently broke the gap of 12 years between Test matches and Umesh Yadav. Hardik Pandya, though a regular part of India’s white-ball setup, is not part of the Test squad. It is known that he does not yet have the fitness to play long spells in red ball cricket. R will be the lead spinner along with Ashwin Jadeja, supported by Akshar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav.

Changes between India’s final Test squad and
I: Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishan Kishan, Surya Kumar Yadav
outside: Abhimanyu Eswaran, Rishabh Pant, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Shardul Thakur.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *