SL vs AFG – Afghanistan have named Gulbuddin Naib, Noor Ahmad in the squad for the three ODIs against Sri Lanka.

Afghanistan have named all-rounder Gulbuddin Naib and left-arm spinner Noor Ahmed in their 18-man squad for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka starting in Kandy later this month.
The rest of the squad remains the same as Afghanistan’s last ODI series, against Zimbabwe in early June when they beat the hosts 3-0.
18-year-old Noor is yet to make his ODI debut but has already made a name for himself in various T20 leagues around the world. He returned figures of 4 for 10 on T20I debut – the joint-best debut figures in T20Is involving two full-member teams – and was recently part of Afghanistan’s 2022 Asia Cup squad. While he was unable to participate in the T20 World Cup in Australia, he has always been with the squad on a regular basis despite not getting any playing time.
Former ODI captain Naib last played a 50-over game against Bangladesh in February but came on midway through Afghanistan’s T20 World Cup as a replacement for the injured Hazratullah Zazai.
The rest of the squad is on expected lines, with Hashmatullah Shahidi leading the team. He is expected to be part of the top order along with Ibrahim Zadran, Rehmanullah Garbaz and Rahmat Shah. Mohammad Nabi, who recently stepped down from the T20 captaincy after a disappointing World Cup campaign where Afghanistan failed to win a single match, has also been included. Rashid Khan and Mujeebur Rahman lead the bowling unit.

“The selectors have included some young faces for the series which augurs well for us going into the ICC Cricket World Cup next year. This series will be very important for us in terms of our qualification for the mega event next year. Important and I am confident. The squad has enough strength to perform well when they take to the field,” ACB CEO Naseeb Khan said through a press release.

The three-match series is part of the ODI Super League and will begin on November 25. All three matches will be played in Kandy. Afghanistan are currently seventh in the Super League points table with ten wins from 12 matches.

Full squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Rahmat Shah (vice-captain), Rehmanullah Garbaz (wicket), Azmatullah Umarzai, Fareed Ahmed, Fazalul Haq Farooqui, Gulbuddin Naib, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Ali Khel (wicket), Muhammad Nabi, Mujeebur Rahman. , Najeebullah Zadran. , Noor Ahmed, Rashid Khan, Riaz Hasan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yameen Ahmed Zai, Ziaur Rahman

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *