SL vs AFG 2022 – Sri Lanka recall Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kisan Rajitha, Lahiro Kumara for Afghanistan ODIs

Just a day out from the first ODI, Sri Lanka have finally announced the 15-man squad for the three-match home series against Afghanistan. Four men have been added to the squad against Australia earlier this year, with Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kisan Rajitha, Ashin Bandara and Lahiro Kumara recalled.

This means there is no place for Chamika Karunaratne, Nirushan Dakwila, Nuvan Thishara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jeokrama, Geoffrey Vandersay and Lahiro Madhushanka. Meanwhile, speedy spearhead Dushmantha Chimera has recently missed surgery in Australia due to a long-term injury problem.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa – who was initially included in the squad – requested his release to take a break from ODI cricket.

The delayed squad announcement was caused by the country’s sports minister refusing to endorse it – a requirement under Sri Lankan sporting regulations – until an explanation was provided about Karunaratne’s dropping.

Subsequently, Karunaratne has been given a one-year suspended ban for violating the contract of the Sri Lankan players during the T20 World Cup in Australia. His omission from the squad followed a string of strong performances in T20Is this year, although he picked up two player-of-the-match awards during the ODI league of the Australia series.

Lakshan is included as an alternative to Karuna Ratna. The 24-year-old Sam bowling all-rounder has been in good form with the bat in Sri Lanka’s first-class setup recently, starting with some impressive performances with both bat and ball during the inaugural edition of the LPL in 2020. was stuck in the circuit. . He will no doubt be hoping to stake a claim for a more permanent place in Sri Lanka’s white-ball sides.

Another player to keep an eye on will be youngster Dunith Wellalage, who produced some impressive all-round performances against Australia earlier this year.

Meanwhile, the in-form Kosalmendis will lead a batting unit that also includes Patham Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashin Bandara and skipper Dasan Shanaka.

Vanundu Hasringa, who also has the ability to bat, and Mahesh Thiekshana, will lead the spin-bowling contingent, supported by the likes of Villalage and De Silva when needed.

Kumara, Rajitha, Pramod Madhushan and Asitha Fernando will comprise the pace attack, with Shanaka and Lakshan providing part-time options.

Squad: Dasan Shanaka (Captain), Patham Nissanka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kosal Mendes, Vinindu Hasaranga, Donath Vellaghe, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kisan Rajitha, Mahesh Thikshana, Pramod Madhushan, Asitha Kumar, La Ishita Kumar

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *