Sehrawat was appointed India Under-19 Women’s captain for the New Zealand T20.

Batsman Shweta Sehrawat will lead India U-19 Women against New Zealand U-19 Women in a five-match T20I series from November 27 to December 6 in Mumbai. The series is part of India’s preparations for the inaugural Women’s Under-19 World Cup. (T20 format) will be played in South Africa in January 2023.

A top-order batsman, Sohrawat led one of the four sides in the Under-19 T20 Challenger Trophy that concluded earlier this month.

Sehrawat was the highest run-scorer in the tournament, scoring 163 runs in four innings at a strike rate of 111.64, including a top-scoring 51. Under-19 quadrilateral series, which featured two teams from West Indies, Sri Lanka, and India.

Batsman Soumya Tiwary has been appointed as the vice-captain of the 15-member squad. He scored 107 runs in four innings in the Challenger Trophy, the fourth best in the competition but at a strike rate of 79.25. Also part of the squad is Shikha Shalot, a middle-order batsman whose unbeaten 69 off 49 balls was the highest individual score of the competition.

In fact, the top four run-scorers in the competition got a place in the squad – Sohrawat, G Trisha, Shalot and Tiwary.

Harshita Basu and Nandini Kashyap have been made wicket keepers. Basu’s strike rate of 132.25 was the best among batsmen who faced at least 50 balls in the Challenger Trophy.

The bowling attack consists of three of the top four wicket takers – Sonam Yadav, Archana Devi and Tetas Sidhu. Sonam tops the charts with seven wickets at an economy of 3.81 in four games. Archana, second on the list, ended up with six skulls. Sadhu has represented the senior Bengal women’s team. In the latest Women’s T20 Trophy, she took two wickets at an economy rate of 4.07 in four matches.

All the matches of the series will be played at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai. Before the India series, New Zealand will play the West Indies in two T20Is at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on November 22 and November 24.

Squad: Shweta Sehrawat (captain), Soumya Tiwari (vice-captain), Shikha Shalot, Trisha G, Sonia Mehdia, Harli Gala, Harishta Basu (wicket), Nandini Kashyap (wicket), Sonam Yadav, Manth Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshvi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falaknaz, Shabnam MD

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *