Santner will lead New Zealand in the T20 against India.

Mitchell Santner has been named the captain of New Zealand’s T20I squad for the series in India starting later this month. Both Kane Williamson and Tim Southee will be absent, having decided not to travel after the ongoing series in Pakistan.
27-year-old Auckland fast bowler Ben Lister has been included in the New Zealand team for the first time. He toured India as part of the New Zealand A squad late last year and was named Auckland Cricket’s Men’s Bowler of the Year last season.

“Ben has made an exciting impact for Auckland at the start of his career in red and white ball cricket,” New Zealand chief selector Gavin Larson said. “Since his debut in late 2017, he has been the Aces’ highest wicket-taker in T20 and List A cricket. His ability to swing the ball well as a left-armer is particularly impressive. It is interesting.

“We all felt for Ben when his tour ended like last year, and it’s a testament to his work ethic that he’s been able to come back to domestic cricket so strongly this season.”

Lister’s A-team tour of India ended abruptly when he came down with pneumonia and had to be hospitalized in Bengaluru before returning home. He has taken five wickets in three Super Smash matches and six wickets in six Ford Trophy innings for Auckland so far this season.

“Mitch is a leader in our white ball teams and has captained the T20 team in India. [in Kolkata in 2021] Before that, Larson said. “His experience in Indian conditions will be invaluable in leading this group.”

NZC said pacers Kyle Jamieson (back), Matt Henry (stomach), Adam Milne (side) and Ben Sears (back) are unavailable for selection as they recover from injuries.

The New Zealand team is currently in Pakistan for one match in a three-match ODI series that is tied 1-1 after drawing the two-Test series 0-0. They will then travel to India for three ODIs in Hyderabad (January 18), Raipur (January 21) and Indore (January 24), before visiting Ranchi (January 27), Lucknow (January 29) and Before the three T20 matches in Ahmedabad (February 1).

New Zealand’s T20I squad for India: Mitchell Santner (capt), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dean Cleaver, Dion Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lester, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ash Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *