Ross Taylor returns for the opening round of the Ford Trophy

Ross Taylor is set to return to the Ford Trophy for Central Districts’ first one-dayer of the season on Thursday. Taylor retired from international cricket earlier this year but is still available for domestic games and is among the 13 names for Central Districts’ opening game against Otago.
This will be Taylor’s 20th season for Central Districts, the only team he has represented in New Zealand domestic cricket. He was their top scorer going into last season’s final with 279 runs at an average of 55.80 and a strike rate of 137.43, including two half-centuries and a 49-ball century against Wellington.

“It was good to make the finals last year but hopefully we can do better this year,” Taylor said. “I haven’t played for CD for a while since retiring from the Black Caps, so it’s good to be playing cricket in New Zealand again, and with a lot of teammates who I’ve played a lot of cricket with.

“One-day cricket was probably my best format in international cricket, so it’s nice to play some white balls and the Ford Trophy. I’m really looking forward to it.”

Taylor has been training with Central Districts in recent weeks after returning from India where he played in the Road Safety World Series and Legends League cricket – two tournaments featuring retired internationals – in September and October.

Will Young will lead Central Districts for the first six rounds of the Ford Trophy to give Tom Bruce a break, and Bruce will take over the captaincy for the remainder of his Super Smash and Ford Trophy campaign.

Central Districts Detachment Will Young (capt.), Doug Bracewell, Tom Bruce, Josh Clarkson, Dan Cleaver (wicket), Jayden Lennox, Ajaz Patel, Brett Randall, Seth Rance, Brad Shmulian, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Ray Toole

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *