Pakistan have included Sharjeel Khan, Shaan Masood and Abrar Ahmed in the probable list for the New Zealand ODI

Pakistan has recalled hard-hitting batsman Sharjeel Khan to ODI cricket after 5 years, the team’s new chief selector Shahid Afridi has named six uncapped players in the 21-man probable list for the upcoming series against New Zealand. .

While the final squad will include 16 players next week, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Fakhar Zaman will both be without a place due to knee injuries.

The 21-man squad consists mostly of young players like Qasim Akram, Ehsanullah and Tayyab Tahir, who have made their mark in the domestic circuit. Apart from this, top-order batsman Kamran Ghulam, who scored a record 1249 runs for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the 2020-21 Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and is among the highest run-scorers in the ongoing Pakistan Cup with 435 runs in six matches. Two hundreds
Pakistan have also called up Shaun Masood, who last played an ODI against Australia more than three years ago. Abrar Ahmed, who recently made his Test debut against England and took a record seven wickets in the first innings, is also in the 21-man list, as is fast bowling all-rounder Amir Jamal, who made his T20I debut. in September.

Pakistan’s last ODI assignment was a three-match series in the Netherlands in August. Only Zahid Mahmood has been dropped from this particular squad, while both Shaheen and Zaman are expected to return to full fitness ahead of next year’s Pakistan Super League.

The upcoming three-match ODI series against New Zealand was originally planned to be held in September last year, but the visitors canceled their limited-overs tour minutes before the start of the first ODI, citing security concerns. done. The upcoming series will be held entirely in Karachi, with matches scheduled on January 9, 11 and 13.

Prospects of Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Abrar Ahmed, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Ehsanullah, Imamul Haque, Kamran Ghulam, Muhammad Haris, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram Salman Ali. Agha, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Durman, Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan and Tayyab Tahir

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *