New Zealand vs India 2022 – Martin Guptill, Trent Boult out of New Zealand’s white-ball squad for India series

Martin Guptill and Trent Boult have been left out of New Zealand’s T20I and ODI squads for the upcoming home series against India, which starts on November 18 in Wellington. Hard-hitting opener Finn Allen has been included in both squads, while fast bowler Adam Milne has returned to the ODI squad for the latter format in 2017.
However, head coach Gary Stead has said “the door is certainly not closed” for Boult and Guptill, with “a lot of international cricket ahead”. Boult had opted out of the NZC’s central contract, although he had recently expressed his desire to play in next year’s ODI World Cup. Guptill was part of the recently concluded T20 World Cup in Australia, but did not play a game against New Zealand which saw Dion Conway and Allen picked at the top of the order.

Allen scored 564 runs in 23 T20Is, including two fifties and a century. In ODIs, he has scored 308 runs in eight matches.

“Finn’s emergence and success at the top of the order in white-ball cricket means a guy of Martin Guptill’s class misses out – that’s just the nature of the high-performance game,” Stead said in an NZC release. Stead said in an NZC release.

“With the 50-over World Cup less than a year away, we are keen to give Finn every opportunity to gain ODI experience, especially against quality opposition like India. Message to both players It is that there is a lot of international cricket going forward and the door is definitely not closed for them.

“When Trent pulled out of his NZC contract in August, we indicated that priority would be given to players with central or domestic contracts, and that has been the case here as well. We all appreciate Trent’s world-class ability. are aware of, but time on that – as we move towards more global events, we want to give others opportunities and experiences.”

All-rounder James Neesham will miss the third ODI in Christchurch as he prepares for his wedding, with Henry Nicholls replacing him. According to the release, Ben Sears and Kyle Jamieson were not considered for selection due to back injuries.

With Boult out of the squad, the pace department now has Tim Southee, Matt Henry (ODI only), Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner and Milne.

The tour begins with a T20I in Wellington before the teams travel to Tauranga and Napier for the second and third T20Is on November 20 and 22. The ODI league starts on November 25 in Auckland, with the second match in Hamilton on November 27 and the final in Christchurch on November 30.

ODI squad: ODI squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Dion Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Tom Latham (wicket), Matt Henry.

T20I squad : Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Dion Conway (wicket), Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ash Sodhi, Blair Tickner.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *