New format for 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup

The 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup in West Indies and USA will be played in a different format from the previous two editions of the tournament.

Instead of the Super 12 after the first round as in 2021 and 2022, the 20 participating teams will be divided into four groups of five teams in the 2024 tournament.

The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super Eight stage where they will be further divided into two groups of four. The top two teams in each of the two groups of the Super Eight will qualify for the semi-finals, followed by the final.

In the last two editions of the T20 World Cup, the first round consisted of two groups of four consisting of teams that entered the tournament through the qualifying pathway and teams that finished between ninth and 12th in the previous T20 World Cup. The top two teams from each group in the first round then joined the remaining eight teams who had already qualified for the Super 12 stage.

So far, 12 teams have sealed their places in the 2024 T20 World Cup.

USA and West Indies qualified automatically as hosts of the tournament. Along with reigning champions England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa and the Netherlands have also qualified, making it to the top eight for the 2022 edition.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh are the other two teams to book their berths, as they were next best in the ICC T20I rankings on the cut-off date of November 14, 2022.

The remaining eight spots will be decided through regional qualifiers.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *