Jasprit Bumrah has been included in the Indian squad for the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Jasprit Bumrah has been included in India’s ODI squad for the three-match series against Sri Lanka after a three-month absence from the national team.

Bumrah has been out of action since September last year due to a back strain reaction, and has since been rehabilitating at the BCCI’s National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. ESPNcricinfo understands that the national selectors have described his recovery as satisfactory.

He is understood to have stepped up his training routine and bowling over the past week, which has led to his inclusion in the squad. “The fast bowler has undergone rehabilitation and has been declared fit by the NCA,” the BCCI said in a statement. “He will soon join Team India’s ODI squad.”

When the Indian squads for the T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka were announced on 27 December, ESPNcricinfo reported that Bumrah was fit, but the selectors were being cautious about sending him back because of the way The back injury resurfaced during the home T20 against him. Australia last year. Bumrah was subsequently ruled out of the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, where India lost to England in the semi-finals.

Bumrah’s recovery and recovery report is believed to have been discussed at the BCCI’s performance review meeting on Monday, leading to a change in stance regarding selection. The team management is reportedly looking to get Bumrah back into full rhythm in a match environment ahead of the four-Test series against Australia in February.

His return comes at a time when India is gearing up for the 2023 ODI World Cup, which will be held in India this October-November. Depending on the outcome of the home Test series against Australia, India may also have the World Test Championship final in June, right after the IPL.

Bumrah’s inclusion in the ODI squad means that India have a full-strength pace attack for the series against Sri Lanka that includes seven-bowling all-rounder Hardik Pandya in addition to Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Arsdeep Singh and Imran Malik. are .

India will play three ODIs against Sri Lanka on January 10, 12 and 15 after the three T20I series starting from January 3.

India squad for Sri Lanka ODIs: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shibman Gill, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket), Ishan Kishan (wicket), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, Yuzvinder Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Aksar Patel, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Imran Malik, Arsdeep Singh.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *